I got my CPF!

14 Sep

Last week I got my Brazilian social security number, or as they call it here, my CPF (Cadastro de Pessoa Física). Why you ask? Because now I can open a bank account, buy property or a car, pay taxes (because clearly the US doesn’t have enough of these), get a cell phone, get a driver’s license, apply for a job, generate credit, and last and most importantly, it makes me officially more Brazilian. I hope I’m asked to provide my CPF, just like I hoped I’d be asked to show my ID when I turned 21.

Not only did I get a bacana (cool) and official certificate, but this may have been one of my proudest moments since I arrived here. I was able to withstand multiple visits to the Receita Federal (1000 times worse than the DMV), speak in Portuguese and understand some of their responses, and complete the process all on my own! Pat on back. It’s amazing how simple tasks here make you feel so accomplished.

I haven’t received my card yet, but here’s what mine will look like! Que legal!

Leave a Reply

