I’m alive

25 Aug

I know, I know, it’s been a while since my last post. My mom keeps reminding me of that. No, I haven’t been kidnapped or sold for prostitution. It’s been a whirlwind since I arrived back from Europe.

ROTA 2011 (annual family vacation) with the Peixotos was as expected, a huge success. I got to see Paris for the first time, attend Marcos’ cousin’s wedding in Roanne, beach hop in Mykonos and yacht around the island of Santorini. I know, life could be worse!

Upon arrival in Brazil I started Portuguese school and work. Yes, I’m no longer unemployed and beach hopping in Brazil. Between class, my new job (marketing contractor), and the horrendous daily commute (3 hours a day), I have about one hour to eat, workout, and itch my million mosquito bites. I wish I could say I was now fluent in Portuguese, but I would be a mentirosa if I said that.

Since we got the keys to our apartment, I’ve been legit shopping it up on the weekend with the help of Marcos’ mom and aunt. The apartment is currently getting tiled, our kitchen cabinets/closets are being made in Rio Grande do Sul, and we’re planning to move in in about a month. We may only have a bed and furnished deck by then, but hey, we got a sweet pool.

It’s been over a month since this adventure started, but I’m now settling in to life here. I’ve realized that it’s nearly impossible to find shoes in my size and I’ll never be considered old meat to the mosquitos, but all in all life is pretty darn awesome.




Leave a Reply

