The odd (wo)man out

22 Jun

If you know me, you know that I’d choose to blend in with the crowd rather than be noticed any day. I don’t like people looking at me, I have social anxiety when it comes to “making a good first impression”, and I don’t want to be judged.

Luckily in California, I am just one of many blondies walking down the street. In Brazil, especially Salvador, it’s an entirely different story. With the combination of being 6 feet tall, blonde, blue eyed, and pink skinned, I appear to be more of a zoo attraction than a local in Bahia.

While I know I’ll be out of my comfort zone more times than not, I think this will be a very rewarding learning experience for me. It’ll be embarrassing and frustrating when I get gawked at for looking different, or try to convince a little girl that I’m not actually Barbie (true story from one of my previous visits), but that’s life and I’ll grow a strong outer shell because of it.

To many stories to come…

4 Responses to “The odd (wo)man out”

  1. Daily by Morin June 22, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    Try being an African in Paris. 😛

  2. Daily by Morin June 22, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    I’m still trying to figure that out!

  3. kate June 22, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    so many little girls in the states would kill to be barbie 🙂

Leave a Reply

