Minha nova escola – My new school

1 Jun

It’s official, thanks to the help of my boyfriend’s amazing mom, I wont be twiddling my thumbs full time during my stay in Brazil. She found a great intensive immersion program where I will learn Portuguese!

Unfortunately I have had minimal success with language studies in the past. I was less than amused to learn Spanish in high school and thus didn’t make much progress. At Stanford, I decided to take the “easy route” and learn sign language rather than continue my Spanish studies (don’t even ask what I was thinking). Turns out, American Sign Language (ASL) wasn’t that easy and it’s not even universally adopted. Since then I’ve had no practice and I can’t even sign “thank you”.

For Portuguese, I tried the Rosetta Stone thing. As soon as I got past level 2, I had little motivation to do my lessons. To increase my drive, I decided to enroll in a small class in San Francisco. It was a great environment to learn in, but the commute after work made it a challenge to attend.

Brazilian Portuguese is a difficult language to learn so I’m hoping that by moving to Brazil and taking an immersion program this will be just what I need to make everything click.

This language school will also be a great way for me to meet others in a similar position and make some friends. I can even learn samba for free! Watch out, I will be Brazilian before you know it.

Check out my new school here: http://www.dialogo-brazilstudy.com. I’m totally digging the bright /fun vibe!

4 Responses to “Minha nova escola – My new school”

  1. Danielle Chompanidis June 9, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    Kris,

    Em pouco tempo você estará escrevendo seus posts também em português! You’ll see 🙂

  2. Diálogo June 27, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    Olá Kristen !

    A Diálogo school agradece o seu post! espero que tenhamos contribuido bastante para seu crescimento! Felicidades! Próxima vez que vinher ao Brazil passe para nos visitar, um grande abraço!

    Equipe Diálogo School

    • Kristen Caverly June 27, 2011 at 10:09 am #

      Hi! I appreciate your message! I will start school at Dialogo in August of 2011. I am very excited to learn Portuguese!

Leave a Reply

