Challenges of an expat

23 May

Being the nerd that I am, I’ve read through hundreds of blog posts written by expats living in Brazil. I feel like I’ve already experienced all the emotions of living abroad before actually making the move. I know that every person will react differently in this particular situation, but I want to be prepared for every possible emotion that may come my way.

I know I will learn so much about myself and grow in incredible ways, but I think the following things will be a challenge:

  1. Being away from my family
  2. Being away from my friends
  3. Becoming more reliant on others (initially)
  4. Learning a new language
  5. Fitting in as a foreigner
  6. Making friends
  7. Glistening from the humidity 24/7
  8. Learning the ins and outs of a new city
  9. Becoming accustomed with Brazilian culture

I don’t want this post to come off negatively. As you’ll notice, the majority of these items were on the list of things that excite me. Change is appealing and I embrace these challenges with open arms!

If I told you I thought this journey would be easy, I’d be lying. But, I’m not worried because I know that I have more than an amazing support system/family both in Brazil and in the US that will be by my side every step of the way.

Leave a Reply

