Why Salvador, Bahia?

12 May

Several people have asked me why I chose to move to Salvador of all places. To which I have replied, why not? Honestly, who wouldn’t want to live in tropical paradise?

I’ve visited this city several times and absolutely feel in love with it for several reasons:

The people– Besides my boyfriend Marcos and his amazing family and friends, people in Salvador are extremely hospitable, generous, friendly, beautiful, happy, and fun-loving. I’ve never felt more welcomed and alive.

The culture– Bahia is known for it’s cuisine, music and dance. The flavors of food are wildly different than anything I have ever tasted and the way the Baianos move their hips is beyond me. While I’d love to learn how to samba while I’m there, I’m pretty sure that’s not going to happen.

The beaches– Having grown up in southern California, I know good beaches. And boy, the beaches are breathtaking in Bahia.  Salvador rests on 50 kms of white sand and crystal clear water that you can enjoy year round. I definitely plan on enjoying a caipirinha or two while lounging seaside.

The history– As the first colonial capital of Brazil, and one of the oldest cities in the New World, Salvador is rich in history. When you’re walking on cobblestone streets you’ll see a 16th century cathedral on your left and modern architecture on your right. The Afro-Brazilian town is unlike any place in the world and it’s definitely lured me in.

These are just a few of the many reasons I love Salvador, Bahia. I’ll be sure to share more with you later.

For those of you who do not know where Salvador is, I’ve provided a map below.  If you ever want to visit, I’ll only be 6,500 miles away.

Leave a Reply

